OLD NEWS - News items from 2016.

18/12/2016 Christmas Raffle 2016. Thank you to all who sold or bought tickets this year. Click HERE to see the prizes and winners.
04/12/2016 The weather was excellent for the final Feathered Blade event of 2016 and 28 members took part. Lindsey Lack had already clinched the overall Three Mile Competition and Oliver Jackson took advantage of Richard Mongan's decision to move up to six miles to take second place. Ben Quittenton was the only paddler to contest all 12 events this year and was rewarded with first place in the Six Mile Competition, closely followed by Lucy Guest.
Other Trophy winners now confirmed for 2016 are:
Neville Powley Cup (Fastest time over the 500m course) - Will Doughty.
Peter Wright Trophy (Fastest time by a female over the 500m course) - Nicole Wells.
Norman Lilley Trophy (Fastest time over the the 6 mile course) - Peter Quittenton.
Three Mile Trophy (Fastest time over the the 3 mile course) - Joe Banton.

27/11/2016 Nine Lincoln paddlers travelled down to Banbury today for the annual Ross Warland Memorial Canal Challenge. (See Picture of the Month December 2016). This event is a 20 mile time trial for K1 or K2 and can also be paddled as a two-boat relay. Andy Grimwood, Richard Oliver, Matthew Oliver and Patrick Mongan took the relay option and were the fastest team of the day, taking just over 3 hours. Paddling in the K2 non-stop section were Kyle Campbell and Dave Best (3hr 34min) and Andy Beeson and Theo Jarratt (3hr 52min). Archie Miles paddled the whole 20 miles in K1, taking 4hrs 23min.
20/10/2016 None of the leading contenders raced at the last Marathon of the season at Banbury, so the Bernard Worth and Bannister Competition points remain the same as after Lincoln. The 2016 trophy winners are confirmed as:
Bernard Worth Trophy - Joint winners Ray Simmons and Lewis Smith
Bannister Trophy - Lewis Andrews
See October's Picture of the Month for a photo of Alex at the Banbury race.
12/09/2016 During one of his frequent visits back to Lincoln from his home in Australia, Paul Hutchinson presented us with a certificate (see September 2016 Picture of the Month) to celebrate the "Twinning" of Avoca Kayak Club and Lincoln Canoe Club. Paul was a member of our very successful racing team in the 1980s before emigrating. He is still an Outpost Member of the club and comes for a paddle whenever he is in Lincoln, even racing at Holme Pierrepont occasionally.
24/07/2016 Congratulations to Abbie Fisher, who is our newest National Champion. Paddling with Emma Smithson (Leamington), Abbie won the U12 Girls K2 race at the National Marathon Championships, which were held on the River Thames at Reading. Another Lincoln medal winner was Lewis Smith, who took Bronze in the U14 Boys K2 event, paddling with Toby Booth from Bishop Stortford. In the non-championship Lightning events held at the same venue, Abbie again won gold in the U12, as did Lewis Andrews in the U10 Boys event. Also in the U10 Boys race was Conor Simmons, who took Bronze and then teamed up with Lewis in the U10 Hody K2 event to take Silver.
17/07/2016 Thanks to some good results from the team which raced at the final race of the 2015-16 Hasler series, at Ironbridge on the River Severn, Lincoln has finished joint second in the Midlands Region. This is our highest placing for a very long time, certainly since before 2004, and reflects the recent increase in interest in Marathon Racing. Well done to all who have contributed to this success and let's see what we can do at the Hasler Final at Worcester in September now that we have qualified for it.
07/07/2016 Congratulations to Lizzy Gray who won gold in the U18 Girls 1000m K1 event at the National Sprint Championships and has been selected to paddle in the 500m and 1000m K1 events at the Junior European Sprint Racing Championships in Plovdiv, Bulgaria next weekend.
22/05/16 We had our biggest turnout of the year at the Leamington marathon, with 24 paddlers taking part. There were wins for Abbie and Lewis A in the Lightnings, but only Josh and Amelia took first place in the Hasler races, in Div 6 K2. Amelia was promoted to Div 6 while Patrick and Lindsey were only a few seconds away from promotion in their races. In the Club competition we were placed second, behind the home club but ahead of the current leaders Nottingham. Overall, this puts us in 3rd place, only one point behind Solihull.
16/05/16 Congratulations to Nicole Wells who has been selected to race at the World University Canoe Sprint Championships in Portugal in June. Nicole will compete in the 200m Womens K1 event.
28/03/16 Andy Beeson's attempt on the DW race was cut short when the organisers stopped the event at Teddington. The final day's 17 mile section on the tidal Thames was considered too dangerous due to severe weather conditions. Andy and his partner Ian Hammond were in 4th place, with a total time of 20h 02m 41s, when the race was stopped at the end of the third day.
27/03/16 It was cold and windy for the first Mini Regatta of 2016, but a good flow on the Fosse Dyke resulted in some fast times and several PBs. Lewis Andrews produced the biggest improvement over the winter, with a time 14 seconds faster than last August, and Nicole Wells equalled the ladies' course record with a time of 2m 7s. Ben Quittenton's 4th place was enough to hold on to first place overall in group A while Abbie Fisher moved up into first in group B.
20/03/16 It was an early start to the marathon season this year at Cambridge. This was out of our Region, so no club points, but reasonably close to Lincoln and a good venue. Abbie was the fastest girl in the Lightning classes (and beaten by only one boy) while Conor did well at his first U10 boys race with second place. Conor's dad, Ray, and Lindsey also had good races to come in the top half of a Div 9 field of 34 paddlers. Matt Oliver was surprised to be promoted back into Div 3 while Lewis S. missed promotion to Div 6 by only one second. Casualties of the very bumpy water and additions to the 2016 swimmers list were Paul Banton and Debbie Q. See our Facebook Group page for photos by Robyn and Anna.
13/01/16 At the 2016 AGM Laurence Oliver retired as Chaiman of the Club following over 50 years of service on the Committee. John Bannister also retired as Honorary Secretary, a post he originally held in 1970 and took up again in 2003.